Update: As a Brighton resident it’d be plain rude of me to not highlight the fact that Alex’s Routes screening at the Duke of York cinema is coming up this Saturday at 4:30pm. Even better the man himself will be there for a Q&A session, so if you’re in the area be sure you head down!

It always makes me well up with pride when I find out that past guests and their films are getting more of the recognition they deserve, so it’s rather puff chestedily (yeah I know that’s not a ‘real’ word) I’m telling you that Alex Reuben’s documentary dance through the Deep South of America Routes has been given a UK cinema run through the Picture House chain. As you can hear in our interview I really loved this film despite my completely unfounded fears about dance films, so if you’re about I highly recommend you check it out at one of the dates below.

You can watch the sneak peak clip Alex gave us and also find out even more at his site. You’ll definitely be pleased you went along and perhaps even inspired to get a bit light on your feet yourself.

GATE PICTUREHOUSE, NOTTING HILL
Fri 18 July 5pm with intro
Sat 19 July 5:30pm with intro
Sun 20 July 5:55pm with intro
Mon 21 July 5:30pm
Wed 23 July 5:30pm
Thurs 24 July 5:30pm
Sat 26 July: 5:30pm plus Q&A
25 — 31 July: times tbc.

FACT, LIVERPOOL
Fri 8, Sat 9, Sun 10 Aug

RITZY, BRIXTON
Fri 15 — Thurs 21 Aug
Q&A on Sat 16 Aug

DUKE OF YORK, BRIGHTON
Sat 16 Aug 4:30pm with Q&A

CAMEO EDINBURGH
Mon 18 Aug 6:30pm

TYNESIDE CINEMA
Mon 22 Sept times tbc
Tues 23 Sept times tbc
Wed 24 Sept times tbc

Leave a Reply